Making deaf children matter

Musings and blogs from a deaf campaigner

Deaf power at the cinema after another subtitles cock-up

Posted by Ian Noon on May 12, 2009

I went along to see a subtitled showing of the new Star Trek film last night with my fellow deaf trekkie geek friend. As is so often the case, it was the only showing in central-ish London this week and not at a particularly convenient time of 5.30pm on a Monday. But I was so keen to see it that I arrived at work at 7.30am so that I could bunk off early from work.

Clearly, I wasn’t the only deaf trekkie in town and the showing was well attended with around 15 deaf people, all very excited.

And then all extremely mutinous and outraged when there was – once again – a five minute delay in the subtitles appearing on the screen. I half considered ripping my chair out and throwing it at the screen.

Instead, a large group of us went outside to berate the man in the projector booth and demand that they restart the film. Initially, he said it was impossible. But we stood our ground and continued to demand what we had paid for – a subtitled film. After around ten minutes, the manager appeared and agreed to restart the film. Clearly, not so impossible.

I was quite proud of the group for making a stand and refusing to give in easily. The error was inexcusable and there should have been no debate about restarting the film and making sure people got what they paid for. One guy remarked that he’d driven 2 hours to come to this cinema to see the film.

I’ve emailed the cinema to ask what happened. I’m fairly resigned to the fact that it will happen again and again. But at least we know what to do next time. My hope is that deaf children as well will feel equally emboldended to go on a riot in a cinema if something like this happens to them.

Deaf power! Rarrgh!

3 Responses to “Deaf power at the cinema after another subtitles cock-up”

  1. Charlotte said

    Good on you! Deaf Power!!! I faced some of these problems. One time was that the cinema didn’t have the subtitled film reel…. they said would you like headphones instead, u can image the deaf people’s uproar! they gave us money back but thats not the point as some of us had came long away. Now days I stick to DVD’s as I just don’t have the time or money to watch it in the middle of day and then finding out that it’s not going to happen.

  2. joseph said

    Brits are fighters… Americans would probably just be given their money back and leave.

  3. helene said

    I love your story-hey I sculpt DeafArt and I sculpt the live long and prosper hand-check out my blog!

What do you think?

 
