Making deaf children matter

Musings and blogs from a deaf campaigner

Helping deaf children in Gambia

Posted by Ian Noon on February 23, 2011

Another former NDCS intern is going on to big amazing things. Anton Venus, who was helping us in the campaigns team last year and generally being exceedingly helpful, is off to Gambia to work with a deaf organisation over there on a VSO project.

It’s my job to moan about provision for deaf children in the UK, but obviously to grow up deaf in some other countries is obviously much more of a challenge and I sometimes feel privileged I grew up in the UK where the provision is available, free of charge, to make sure I can strut my stuff. This is something which NDCS’s international development wing, Deaf Child Worldwide works on (helping deaf children overseas, not helping me strut my stuff obviously). So I’m very impressed by Anton’s desire to travel over to Africa to work with deaf organisations there and commitment. I’m sure he will make a huge difference.

You can check his blog out here and sponsor him too. A very worthy cause.

What do you think?

 
