When things fall on deaf ears in Parliament

I’ve set up an alert with the lovely people at theyworkforyou.com so that whenever a politician mentions the word ‘deaf’, I get an email alert. I’m thinking of setting up some system where a big red flashing light comes up whenever deafness is uttered in the Houses of Parliament and I’m propelled into a deafmobile that rushes me to Westminster.

Anyhow, I’m really glad I did set up this alert. These politicians are ALWAYS asking deaf people for help and information. I never noticed it before. It’s really quite touching, that we, deaf people, are held in such high esteem that we are so often called upon in the corridors of power.

But I am sorry to say that we deaf people are FAILING the politicians. They cry to us, like hungry puppies, and we ignore them. And now when they ask us for help, they know we will not act.

Let us consider some recent cries for help:

Lord Howarth of Newport said on the 29th March: My fear is that appeals to traditional constitutionalism may over time fall on deaf judicial ears.

Jim Fitzpatrick MP said on the 24th March: I hope he will give some reassurance that the efforts of the brave men and women of the coastguard service and those who depend on them, as well as those who support them, will not fall on deaf ears.

Jo Swinson MP said on the 21st March: If we did not act, we would send the message that if populations asserted themselves and demanded their rights, asking the international community for help when peaceful protest was met with murder, their request for help would fall on deaf ears.

Oh my golly gosh, I feel so guilty. All of these calls for help falling on my big old deaf ears and I didn’t do anything about it. And clearly they’ve begun to notice. They talk about things falling on my ears as being a BAD thing. Oh no.

Mind you, what can a humble guy like me do? What do I know about coastguards, judicial constitutionalism and Libya? Whilst I hate to spurn calls for help, surely there are better ears for these issues to fall on?

I urge the politicians to STOP letting things fall on deaf ears. There’s only so much burden we can take.

One thought on “When things fall on deaf ears in Parliament

  1. Curious usage of terms Ian ! the blog title refers to deafness negatively as per deaf never listen…. ‘deaf ears’ is old fashioned and feeds against us. Should we be using and endorsing it ?

What do you think?

