Making deaf children matter

Musings and blogs from a deaf campaigner

Audiology stories…

Posted by Ian Noon on March 2, 2015

I got roped into doing a ‘Vine’ today to support NDCS’s Listen Up! campaign to improve audiology services for deaf children. A vine is a series of very short video clips and you can see mine here, talking about my audiology experiences, whilst holding bits of paper with squiggles and questionable cartoons on them.

In case you can’t read my squiggles, one thing I fondly remember is getting new ear moulds. I used to love the feeling of warm goo being pumped into my ear. Heck, I still do.

My less happy memories including the lack of deaf awareness among the audiologists I used to have. The audiologist rarely spoke to me direct about my hearing loss or my hearing aid. I had no idea how to look after my equipment. And, until I was well into my twenties, I had no idea how to read an audiogram or what mine meant.

Judging by NDCS’s campaign report, this lack of deaf awareness is still an issue in some areas. Deaf young people and families have also told NDCS that their experiences include having to wait long times for appointments or for new ear moulds, resulting in ‘lost’ listening time.

NDCS have a big meeting coming up very soon with NHS England. You can help make the meeting a success by telling them about your own audiology stories. NDCS are looking for eye catching videos that they will help the bigwigs at NHS England understand why action is needed. You can send your videos to campaigns@ndcs.org.uk or you can share online on Twitter, using #AudiologyStory and mentioning @NDCS_UK. Hurry, you’ve got until the 4th March to get them in.

What do you think?

 
